Fail February · Finished projects

Fail February: The Moji Clown Pants of Failure

Today I bring you my first failed sewing project of Fail February! I made the Seamwork Moji Pants last year and am sad to say they did not turn out as I had hoped.

img_8643
The face says it all.

When the Moji Pants first came out, I was intrigued. I wasn’t sure if they would be very flattering, but I was willing to give it a try.

img_8652

When I was fabric shopping in Japan, this two-sided fabric was on sale and I immediately thought of the Moji Pants as the solid side looked a lot like denim.

Then when it came time to make these pants, I wanted to add some interest and use the opposite side of the fabric for accent bits. Well, I think the polka-dotted side definitely adds interest, but the wrong kind!

img_8645

These scream CLOWN PANTS to me! I had the most difficult time figuring out what kind of top to pair these with and settled on this RTW shirt which is cuter with a slimmer silhouette on bottom for sure.

I made the size 14 as I have a generous booty and this fabric doesn’t provide any stretch.

img_8660

I think I should have sized down because the waistband and… well… everything is a little big. But I still get pulling in the rear when I bend down! These pants are definitely drafted for someone with a less supple badunk.

img_8655

They do not flatter AT ALL!

img_8658

You can kind of see the pockets flare out a little as the waistband is cinched in tightly. It’s just ill-fitting all-around.

img_8684
My disappointment is difficult to hide.

I’m glad I didn’t spend too much time on these as they are an easy and fast make. I am bummed, though, that I wasted a lot of my Japanese fabric!

I was hoping I could at least use these at around-the-house lounging pants, but I haven’t touched them since these photos last summer.

I tried to be positive…

img_8662

… but these are destined for the donation pile!

img_8662

Lessons learned:

  • Choose the correct size! Make sure you measure yourself and don’t think you’re bigger than you really are… ~_~;
  • The Moji Pants seem suited to a fabric with a some drape. This cotton was just too stiff and did nothing for my figure.
  • Polka-dotted fabric saddle bags do NOT belong on your hips!

Has anyone out there had a better experience with the Moji? Please share so I can see what you did right! I really love the aesthetic of the sample Seamwork used and believe I am destined for a great pair of Mojis one day.

-RED

Save

26 thoughts on “Fail February: The Moji Clown Pants of Failure

  1. I made a pair of Moji pants last summer out of chambray. They’re OK. Definitely drafted for someone flat-assed (which is the case with most Colette patterns, IMHO). I like the pockets for carrying a phone and keys (I wore them a lot to walk the dog – what does that tell you?) I wore them with a long top to hide the diaper butt look. I wanted to try another pair with an invisible side zip.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chambray sounds like a good fabric pairing with the Moji. I’ll have to look into tweaking the pattern for a round bottom. I guess it’s not that bad of a problem to have! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  2. I’d just remove the pockets entirely or sew them back on with the other side out. Otherwise, these look good, and I think the fit is right for that style.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can see how that would look better, thanks for the idea! I’ll have to take them out of hiding and see if they would be worth that bit of work. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. This type of woven pant though is REALLY hard to be flattering on a girl like us with a tiny waist but junk n da trunk. Which, you would think, being able to sew, we could fix that? But I haven’t found a solution that doesn’t involve too much gathering at the waistband or too tight in the bum. To be honest, this is probably a big part of why I just can’t be bothered to make pants for myself. This type of pant appeals to me because it won’t have all the fiddly fitting, but it’s just a bad idea on my body type.

    Oh well.

    Thanks for sharing! I’m glad we can collectively share our fails to show we are indeed humans lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear ya – I have some RTW pants that are a similar style from Banana Republic with an elastic waist and ankles. I had to ask my husband 5x before buying if they made me look weird. He said no and I’ve gotten compliments on them here and there. I think you have to concentrate on styling it just right so it’s not a weird diaper-butt look. I think the elastic and drapey fabric of my RTW pants help with the fit a little.

      Or maybe I’ll just stick to the Ginger Jeans – they are a great pattern for those of us with an itty bitty waist and that round thing in yo’ face! I just had to add darts in the yoke to prevent gaping, but that’s easily tweak-able for my next pair!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I think elastic and removing the pockets would make this 100x better for sure! Maybe I’ll hold off on the charity thing and see if I have the patience to re-work these. Sometimes it’s easier (and more fun) to just start again from scratch! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, your face says it all! I had to laugh about the polka dotted saddle bags. Definitely not what you were going for, I’m sure. I think you’re right about the more drape being a better idea. That being said, this is pretty much exactly the look I ended up with the Blank Slate Oceanside pants I made last summer, and I used a drapey linen. I think I put them on and thought–wow, I didn’t know my backside was so vast and flat–I thought I was in shape. ๐Ÿ˜€ Sometimes styles just don’t work. I’m finishing up my post on a similar theme of styles just not working for the Toaster Sweater #1.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re definitely not shaped like that! It’s amazing what either fabric choice or pattern choice will do for one’s figure. I saw your post on the Toaster sweater – such a shame! One thing I do like about the sewing blogosphere is I can usually find someone with a similar shape than me to determine what patterns look good for my body type. I just need to do more research before jumping into a very different-for-me pattern!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, research is helpful! The semi-fail was on me. I looked at the sizing chart, not the finished measurements and I got swayed by what I once heard someone call the Glamazons. Glamazon=the pretty girl on the pattern envelope covers that may or may not let you know what’s really going on with the fit of any given pattern.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I was scared to make these as there are so many bad reviews, but I finally did on the weekend and thankfully I like them. I made them in a tencel which has good drape and is very soft. I’ll do a post today if you wanna check them out in that fabric.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh Tencel is the best fabric ever! I think it’s better suited to the Moji pattern for sure. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d love to see your post – I tried checking out your site but it wouldn’t load ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

