Uncategorized

2016 Top 5 and Getting Ready for 2017

Another year in the books… and although many have claimed 2016 was a terrible year for them (so sorry!), it was a better year for me.

And what better way to end a year and start a new one than with Gillian’s Top 5 from Crafting a Rainbow!

top5

Top 5 Hits

Tencel Sewaholic Granville

It’s no lie that this is easily my favorite shirt. It’s the most comfortable thing ever and I’ve been wearing it weekly since I made it.

img_0466

Ginger Jeans

This was a no-brainer, too. Although there are some tweaks I will do for my next pair, I have worn the heck out of these and it still boggles my mind that I MADE JEANS.

IMG_8412

More and More Monetas

Is this really a surprise?

sewing32

Exer-Fries

I am getting way more wear out of this fry workout gear than I thought. And it always makes someone smile at the gym. πŸ˜‰

surfs-up

Gertie + Vogue Peplum Top

There are more that can take this spot, but I just love how this shirt came out!

IMG_8376

Top 5 Misses

Seamwork Paxson

I can’t wait to donate this sweaty, uncomfortable thing!

20160118_134801

Plantain Christmas Tee

This thing never saw the light of day after my blog photos…

IMG_7059

Fall Catarina Camisole

This is more of a belly shirt since I forgot to accommodate my curves when lengthening the Catarina dress bodice. I always find myself tugging at the hem.

img_8876

Winslow Culottes v. 1.o

I learned that fabric really does make a difference! So glad I tried these again in a drapier fabric and ended up with a win after this one that doesn’t get worn much.

IMG_8933

(Coming to a Fail February near you…) Seamwork Moji Pants

Here’s a sneak peek at a monstrosity I made… stay tuned for a post about them in February!13319915_10100501401399575_6271326495466211288_n

Top 5 Non-Sewing Highlights

  1. JAPAN. I made a long-awaited trip back to my home away from home and caught up with my friends after 8 years.
  2. EUROPE. Semi-family vacation plus experiencing Oktoberfest is always a highlight in my book.
  3. NEW ORLEANS. It was a work trip in the summer, but I am so happy I was able to see most of my friends and family (and eat all of the seafood!).
  4. EXERCISE. I started going back to the gym regularly again in August (minus the weeks of illness that swooped upon me at inconvenient times). I love the Les Mills workout classes and I had tried Body Flow (mix of Tai Chi, Pilates, and Yoga) years before after I started having back pain. At the time, it really hurt my back but now I have learned to really listen to my body and limit myself to what I can do physically without pain. So I go about 2-3 times a week (plus trying out some outside yoga classes) and learned that my body and mind really do need the low-key strengthening and balance work. Of course, I still kick my own ass at Body Pump (light weights, many repetitions) but I am putting less stress on my body as a whole and am taking time to do some meditation, which helps after a stressful day at work. I also tried a couple of Barre 3 classes with a coworker and I found it’s also a great workout. Too bad it’s so far from my house! (And expensive to boot).
  5. FRIENDS. I’ve made a few more new friends this year who really vibe well with my personality. I am also grateful for my well-established friends, too! Y’all make life more beautiful.

Top 5 Reflections

  1. I have noticed this year I am starting to make garments that really fit who I am. I find myself reaching for my me-mades more often than my RTW clothes and that makes me super happy (and super ready for Me-Made-May).
  2. I have experimented a lot this year, too. I tried my hand at culottes and although they were something I never thought I would wear, I’m finding out I can rock them. Hooray for new silhouettes! I also made my first soft bras and half-assed started on panties (currently UFOs until I finish some more important projects). Oh, and JEANS!
  3. I joined the Cali Fabrics blogger team this year and I am sooo happy to be a more active part in the online sewing community! I also found a new-to-me fabric store that carries really great quality fabrics and has crazy fast shipping! Thanks for everything, Ron!
  4. I finally started sewing some of my Grainline patterns (Hemlock, Tiny Pocket Tank, Scout Tee) and realized they are great staples. Sometimes the basics are really the best.
  5. I’ve made 39 garments this year (counting the soon-to-be-revealed Moji Pants Fail and 2 yet-to-be-blogged) plus those coasters and Christmas trees. I should be finishing up my 40th garment today, which would be the same amount of garments as last year! I started out thinking I wouldn’t have much time for my favorite hobby because of the overtime mandate at work, but I guess that didn’t stop me!

Top 5 Goals

  1. MAKE THOSE DAMN THURLOW TROUSERS.
  2. Make an underwire bra. I bought the Madalynne Simplicity bra pattern and hope I actually get off my butt and do it!
  3. Continue to eek out into the sewing community a little more. I’ve already mentioned Cali Fabrics and I’m participating in my first sewing challenge – the Day and Night Dress Challenge. I hope I can participate in more sewing community activities in 2017!
  4. Make a graphic for Fail February so it’s a legit thing and more people can share their sewing fails.
  5. Hand embroidery! I bought this book from ModCloth on a whim (and because, uh, sale codes!). I want to start experimenting with adding some hand-embroidery into my sewing makes. Fancy butt pockets, here I come!

Whew! After all of that, I’d definitely say 2016 was a great year and I hope it continues into next year!

Happy New Year to you all and may all of your sewing dreams and goals come true in 2017!

-RED

Save

8 thoughts on “2016 Top 5 and Getting Ready for 2017

  1. Loved your roundup! And in the best most positive way, I cannot *wait* to see those #fail pants; sounds like they’re a doozy. πŸ˜€ I think making Fail February a “thing” sounds hilarious and fun and cathartic–bring it on! And congrats again on the Cali partnership: here’s hoping it continues to be a fun and successful thing for you in 2017. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dude those Moji pants turned out to be legit clown pants. It’s the best fail ever.

      And Happy New Year to you, too! Here’s to another year of fun sewing adventures and online bloggy friendships ❀ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I adore the idea of Fail February. I will get going sucking at a project pronto! I think it’s a great idea. There’s too many perfect projects out there; it’s good to reflect on reality! What’s the ModCloth embroidery book called?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha every year I wonder if I’ll have a project to post for Fail February, and whaddya know, without trying I always do! I actually have 2 so far for this February. Sigh. ~_~; But it’s fun to post the fails as long as I have some company πŸ˜‰

      The book is called Stitch Encyclopedia: Embroidery Book. It’s got beautiful photo tutorials inside. I sure hope I follow through on that goal and actually embroider something!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

