Uncategorized

A Nomination and a Feature

Why hello there! I am back and almost rested after my week in New Orleans. It was a WONDERFUL time full of family, friends, celebrations, and fried seafood. OH, THE FRIED SEAFOOD! I mean, take a look at this beauty:

1514986_10100348409751065_8093606112183129417_nIs that not the most beautiful thing you have ever seen? It hurt so good and after eating things like that for a whole week straight, I need to detox and lose the 5-10 pounds I gained on the trip. It was so worth it, though.

My friends’ wedding was absolutely beautiful an I am so glad I was able to partake in their special day. I made a cool matching clutch to go with the dress I made, but that’ll be for another post!

Now, the reason for THIS post is that there’s some major love going around the sewing world. I was nominated for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award!

logoSay whaaaaaaaaaat? Totally cool, right? Becky from SpringyStitches nominated me, showing love for my Sneaky Khaleesi Dress and the many Monetas I have been making. Thank you so much, Becky! You should check out her blog – she makes beautiful, feminine clothes from the best fabric ever! I seriously need to go to the UK and shop with her – I have such fabric envy. πŸ˜‰

Now, there are a few rules I must follow:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog
  2. Display the award logo in a blog entry
  3. List the award guidelines so your nominees will know what to do
  4. State seven hidden facts about yourself OR three things that inspire you.
  5. Nominate other blogger friends for the award.

1-3 are done, so I’ll move on to #4 and list three things that inspire me.

1. The sewing blogosphere, of course! You guys make the coolest things and I can see how new patterns look “in person” before I dive in myself.

2. Japanese fashion magazines. My favorite is VIVI magazine and I just recently purchased the Summer 2015 Gothic Lolita Bible. Some of the styles are a bit wacky, but that’s what I love about Japanese fashion! Although most of the styles don’t work for my body type, I could spend all day looking at Japanese fashion. It also makes me nostalgic for my time in Japan. Whenever I would visit cities like Tokyo or Osaka, I would just stare (trying not to be too creepy) at the cool clothes and shoes people were wearing on the train and streets.

3. Big city fashion. I talked about Japan, but I love visiting other cities and gleaning inspiration from everyday people. Tucson, AZ is not a fashionable city AT ALL (think retirees and lots of elastic pants), so I soak in inspiration when I travel. I’ve been to Washington, DC frequently lately and I liked the “business chic” feel. I liked the “party” clothes I saw in Las Vegas this past April and wish I could make some cool clothes to get out and party more! Also, when DD and I went to Europe last summer, I was obsessed with Belgium’s fashion and all of the cool leather jackets I saw.

I bought a Moleskine sketchbook not too long ago, thinking I would carry it around with me everywhere I go in case inspiration struck. I’m bad and have been leaving it at home, so I need to pack it up and get out there!

Now it’s time to nominate other bloggers. This is really difficult because I find inspiration in every single sewing blog I come across. But alas, I cannot nominate the entire sewing blogosphere, so I’ll cut it down to a few:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Compulsive Seamstress – Anne makes the coolest clothes, especially for her daughters! I have the Bellatrix Blazer pattern and am waiting to make something as cool as her “Le Bellatrix Blazer Francais.” Viva la France!

Mac’s Crafts – Jamie’s cool work clothes inspire me to get-a-movin’ making my work wardrobe more fabulous. Those purple Thurlows, gah! I also am digging her platinum pixie hair which helped me take the plunge (imitation is the best form of flattery, right?).

The Quirky Peach – I love ALL of Sally’s clothes! She makes some everyday wear but throws in quirky pieces now and again. I love how she made her Bronte top into a dress and I am planning on copying one of these days!

Life In A “Mad’s” House – Mads is one of the coolest people in the sewing world I virtually know. She goes into major detail on all of her projects and I am totally envious of her Spankin’ New Springtime Set. First off, that fabric – gah!!! I totally tried copying but I think that fabric isn’t sold anymore. 😦 Secondly, I love the idea of making separates from the same fabric to either wear together for a “dress” feel, or separate to get even more wear out of them.

Saturday Night Stitch – I don’t know how Hila does it – between having a small army of children, working, and busting out new projects weekly – she must be superwoman! I’m digging her TNT (Tried ‘N’ True) patterns like Vogue V1440, Sewaholic Granville (especially the sleeveless variety!), and her many Monetas. Keep ’em coming, girl!

SparkleNeedles – Rosie has such a fun sense of style and a fun blog! She’s very witty and has some awesome taste in quirky fabrics. I am inspired by her Southport Dress – a dress I wouldn’t have looked at twice until I saw how cute it was on her! She’s “new” to the sewing world but she is rocking out some awesome projects! Keep it up, girl!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As you can see, I could go on and on but alas, I must stop before I spend all day typing and linking! Thanks to all of the ladies above for providing me with tons of inspiration to keep on sewing. πŸ™‚

Oh, and a bit of exciting news! GirlCharlee.com featured my Peacock Maxi Dress on their blog for June Knit Picks! Squeeee! I love their fabrics (I actually just made another 20-yard order yesterday!) and am super stoked they liked my dress enough to share.

I’M TOTALLY FEELING THE SEWING LOVE, YOU GUYS!! Between nominations, features, and your everyday positive comments, I am just glowing! Keep spreading that sewing love, y’all!

-RED

11 thoughts on “A Nomination and a Feature

    1. Yay! I can’t wait to see who inspires you. πŸ™‚

      The UK is definitely on my bucket list of places to visit! DD and I are talking about another Europe trip soon, so we’ll see!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. (I drive-by “liked’ this post DAYS AGO, but here I am to finally comment properly, LOL!)

    I LOVED this post!! It’s so cool to learn what really inspires other sewists, especially the niche stuff like wacky Japanese fashion! πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for nominating me–I am shocked and flattered that anyone would think the stuff I come up with is inspiring in any way, especially someone I admire in turn. (My one regret is that I am not allowed to nominate you back, LOL.) And the GC feature is amazing news–congratulations!!

    And OMG the food in NOLA…we were there for an academic conference several years ago, and Tom basically made it his mission to eat his way through the French Quarter, LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course you inspire! Your crazy cat lady outfit is what initially sucked me in – I should have mentioned that, too! Thanks for all of the kind words. ^_^ If you participate, I can’t wait to see who/what inspires you, too!

      I’m tracing out some Japanese sewing patterns now so I hope to do a full-on Japanese fashion post sometime soon. DD and I also just booked flights to go [back] to Japan in March, so I’m full-on obsessing right now! Squeeee!

      Haha, eating your way through the French Quarter sounds like quite a feat! I sure hope you got some beignets at Cafe Du Monde. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

