Finished projects

One Moneta, Two Moneta…

The temperature is rising here in Tucson, and you know what that means…

Brace-Yourselves-SummerThe dreaded seven-month summer is starting and I need to figure out how to not wear pants for the season. Shorts are OK, but not work appropriate (thanks, real adult job), so that means I need more dresses in my life.

Imagine my excitement when I found out Colette Patterns was having a 20% off sale on the Moneta dress back in March. I’ve seen lots of renditions of it all over the sewing blogosphere and I was intrigued. I haven’t had much experience with Colette patterns except for their free Sorbetto and Mini Bloomers patterns. I have already made some casual knit summer dresses before using my own Franken-patterning technique, but I was ready for something different. The Moneta seemed more feminine, not to mention all of the collar and sleeve options… and she has POCKETS! A definite plus in my book.

I bought the PDF pattern and got right to work. I’ve made two so far, am almost finished a third, and have a fourth cut out. It’s kind of an obsession – you can’t beat how fast and easy this is to make, especially with a serger!

IMG_5491This is my first Moneta. This fabric is one of the first knit fabrics I bought at SAS when I started sewing. I used it for a McCall’s tunic top, but that turned out to be a small disaster (spoiler: go down about 2-3 sizes with McCall’s knit patterns!). I still had a good bit of this fabric left, so I thought it would be good for a test dress.

IMG_5485I traced the pattern, grading from a small down to a medium and it turned out to be a perfect fit! I didn’t make any changes to the torso length for this version… a common pattern tweak for me… so I feel the waist sits a little high for my liking.

IMG_5488I love, love, love the scoop neck in the back. It’s very feminine but I have to make sure I wear sunblock or else I’ll get the dreaded RED NECK. I might come from the dirty south, but I ain’t that country! :-p

Sewing9The neckline scoops lower in the back, which confused me at first because it’s normally the other way around. I labeled my front and back pieces while I was sewing and stuck a cute pink ribbon in the neckline so I could tell which was the back.

20150510_170510
Like so…

 

IMG_5494I’m kind of digging the stripes. I don’t usually buy a lot of stripey fabric, but I should probably start. I also attempted stripe-matching and think it’s a success:

IMG_5509Thanks to all of the sewing bloggers who are obsessed with stripe/plaid/pattern matching, I now cannot look at a striped/plaid/patterned shirt or dress without being judgmental when they’re not lined up perfectly at the seams. Of course I won’t kill myself to have everything matching perfectly all the time, but I do try to make a conscious effort, especially with stripes.

IMG_5498Oh and hey, look, she’s even cute with a belt!

IMG_5499I bought this obi-style belt from ModCloth.com (LOVE that website!). I don’t see myself wearing this dress styled with my belt until fall (so around November for us…) because I get all kinds of sweaty. The breezier the outfit for summer, the better.

IMG_5500Hah, my dress got stuck on my booty there. Oh well. The only complaint I have about this version of the dress is that the pockets don’t lay flat – which was totally MY fault. I got so excited to use the serger on ALL THE SEAMS that I didn’t think about how you can’t make those true 90 degree turns on a serger. So my pocket seams stick out a bit and aren’t perfect, but most people won’t notice anyway. I’m just super picky like that!

OK, so are you ready for Moneta #2?

IMG_5652BAM! Super flowery fun times! DD instructed me to pick a weed/flower and pose with it, so this is what you get!

IMG_5654I feel like this version is more work-appropriate. I could wear #2 Monday through Thursday and bust out #1 on casual Friday. I guess it’s all considered casual, but my office’s “business casual” is more casual than most. 😉  It’s those hot summers, y’all!

IMG_5656I stuck with my small-to-medium grading but added 1″ to the torso, so the waistline sits more comfortably for me.

I also sewed the pockets and skirt with my sewing machine first, then went back and serged the seam allowance. This made all the difference in the pockets lying flatter since I could get those 90 degree turns perfect with my sewing machine.

IMG_5660There was almost a disaster while making version 2. I thought I was being so careful to not cut my fabric so there would be flowers on *ahem* inappropriate parts of my anatomy. When I sewed the top half together, I tried it on to check the fit and to my utter horror, there were flowers right smack in the middle of my boobs. I’m not much for the flower nipple look, so I stared at myself for minutes, wondering if anyone else would notice. I decided if I noticed it, others would, so I had to think fast.

Ah-hah!

I could simply turn the top around so the front is the back and vice-versa! Now those pesky flowers don’t look so embarrassing on my back:

IMG_5673

Do you see where it could have looked terribly wrong if I would have kept this the front piece?  IMG_5681

Now my second version of the Moneta is a bit backwards, but I think it works out! The front neckline scoops lower, which is what I’m used to. I’m happy that this pattern can be worn either backward or forward! Flower nipples one day, no flower nipples the next!

IMG_5683

IMG_5685

That’s about all I can say for these dresses.  Super easy and super fast to make, not to mention super cute to wear! I’m not sure which one I like better. What do you think? Stripes or flowers? Or both?!

-RED

16 thoughts on “One Moneta, Two Moneta…

  1. Both versions are so cute! I’ve been eyeing Moneta for a while, but I’m not sure about the sizing. I do love how feminine this pattern is. Nice work with the stripe matching…it’s so true. Sewing blogging makes you self-conscious about pattern matching! The floral version is so dramatic–it looks great on you. I hope you survive the summer. We have “dry heat” in CO too, and I don’t care what anyone says, it’s blooming hot, and great pains must be taken to not wilt on the spot when it hits.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Take the plunge and try the Moneta… I haven’t heard anything negative about it yet. It would look so cute on you!

      Ugh today was a little warmer than the rest of the week. It’s still not bad for this time of year but I’m dreading the summer! Fall is my favorite season… gimme boots and cardigans! Hang in there and try not to wilt! 😉

      Like

      1. I really like the style. I’d have to check the shoulder/neck size because their smallest size lists bigger measurements than me. I’m taking a class to create your own slopers right now. I think after that, it’ll be easy to look at great patterns like this and adapt them as I need to!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Good luck with your class! That sounds great, learning how to adjust things as needed – I need a class on that. 🙂

        Like

  2. Those are some good-lookin’ Monetas! The floral one is my personal favorite, even though you have robbed us all of the flower nipples. 😉

    And UGH why do grown-up jobs have to insist that we dress like grownups? Sometimes a girl just wants to wear a crop top with a sliver of skin showing–what’s so bad about that?!? 😀 I feel for you in the summer, because I have no idea how you function in that kind of heat.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I couldn’t bear to post a picture of flower nipples for all the world to see, but funny story – I didn’t realize until the second time I wore it that my floral scuba knit dress has a big dark flower right in the middle of each butt cheek, LOL! Oh, well.

      I’m wanting to bust out all of my cat and chicken t-shirts at work but I have to settle on wearing my not-so-obvious cat heels. Darn this whole being a grown up thing!

      I basically just lock myself in my house in the summer and stay away from that sun! It gets pretty bad here but I’ll take a summer in Tucson over a summer in New Orleans any day. That humidity KILLS!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

