Me Made May

Me-Made-May 2015 Pledge

me-made-may'14It’s a little scary how fast this year is flying by already. It’s hard to think May is upon us, and for us sewing/crafty folk, that means Me-Made-May is about to engulf our blog feeds and Instagram accounts.

For those who aren’t familiar, Me-Made-May (MMM) is a challenge created by Zoe from “So Zo, What Do You Know?” where people who create garments or accessories make a conscious effort to wear their “me-mades” as often as possible. The challengers set their own rules, so every pledge can be different. If you want to read more about it, check it out here.

It’s a great way to celebrate all of the hard work we put into our projects and share to give others inspiration. It also may force us to use some pieces we don’t normally reach for in our closets and maybe re-evaluate what we should be making.

I’ve been an MMM stalker for the past couple of years, wondering when I would have enough guts (and garments) to be able to participate. Well, now that I have a blog and an Instagram account (stalk me @sewredy) I feel like I can take the plunge. So here’s my pledge:

“I, Rachel of Sew RED-y, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’15. I endeavor to wear at least four me-made garments each week for the duration of May 2015.”

I’ll break it down to at least 2 garments during the work weeks and me-mades throughout the weekends. Of course I’ll try for more, but I wanted to make this achievable. I will be doing weekly updates on here and posting my daily-ish garments on Instagram.

Is anyone else out there doing the pledge? I can’t wait to see and share next month! BRING IT ON!!

-RED

6 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2015 Pledge

  1. Woo hoo! I do not think I’ll do MMM this year–I just don’t have enough handmades to manage more than 1 or 2 a week, and I’d be repeating them allllll month. 🙂 But I like the concept of taking a few weeks to evaluate what we’ve made and how it all fits (or doesn’t) into our daily lives, so hopefully next year I can get in on this. (Aaaaaand I’m off to stalk you on IG in 3…2…1…)

    Like

  2. You should participate and pledge to wear your crazy cat lady outfit every day, LOL! That would be awesome. Last year I focused on making more “cake” pieces because I knew I wanted to participate sometime soon. I have lots of casual weekend clothes/t-shirts, but I really need to focus on work-appropriate attire since I’m there for most of my life. :-\

    Thanks for stalking me on IG! I’ve returned the favor, yay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

