Finished projects · Gift ideas

Throwback Thursday: More Gifts for Mom

I was see-sawing between two themes for this week: matching makes (the PJs mentioned in the last post) or things I’ve made for my mom. I think the matching pajamas would have been funnier, but I need to take better pictures of them and

aint-nobody-got-time-fo-dat4Sooo let’s talk about some fun and easy gifts you can make for your mom or other cool lady in your life! The following projects were made for Mother’s Day 2013 and were a hit!

Check out this totally awesome flat/curling iron sleeve and make up pouch:

20130505_180038Isn’t that fabric gorgeous?? It’s a home decor fabric that was left over from my first sewing project – a purse. I absolutely love the floral motif and the combination of purple and black.

When a holiday or birthday comes around, I try to think of something useful (or sometimes just plain weird or cute) to make/buy for that person. My mom’s second job is a fitness instructor so she is at the gym basically every day. She mentioned she brings her flat iron to the gym to freshen up on Saturday mornings after class before running errands. She’s also really into make up so I figured a matching set would be cute to lug to the gym.

20130505_180141I lined the inside of the flat/curling iron sleeve with purple quilting cotton and used store-bought black bias tape for the edges. There is a layer of Insul-Brite between the outer and inner fabric to make sure the heat stays where it should and not hurt you or your counter top. It’s also great for when you travel – when you’re finished with your hair in the morning before your vacation or work trip, you don’t have to wait around for your iron to cool before throwing it in your luggage. The sleeve makes sure everything is protected and you don’t waste precious minutes getting to your destination.

Don’t you want one now? Well, I’ve got great news for you, then! My sewing guru, Dana, has an awesome tutorial on how to make your own on her blog! Go check it out – this would also make awesome Christmas gifts! I know because I was gifted one by her for Christmas and I use it every single day… even with my short hair. 😉

20130505_180226The make up pouch is taken from a tutorial I found while perusing Pinterest. It’s very basic and probably a little easier to make than the sleeve since you don’t have to mess with bias tape… although zippers may be scary to some (don’t worry, they’re not!). I lined the bag with more extra fabric I had from my first project/purse. The purple zipper doesn’t quite go as well with the purple on the bag, but I kind of forgot to bring my scraps with me while buying the zipper. Womp womp. 😦

These projects would be great for a beginner sewist and are a nice instant gratification project for more advanced sewists. Sometimes there’s nothing that feels better than busting out a cool, cute project in an hour or less… especially if you deplete your scrap fabric stash in the meantime. Win-win! 🙂

So now you have a couple of project ideas for mom, hooray! Do you have any favorites you’d like to share?

-RED

Leave a Reply

