Uncategorized

Christmas Haul

I hope y’all had a wonderful Christmas! Mine was great – I started with baking up a storm Christmas Eve so I could work on gaining that holiday poundage. I made pecan praline cookies and cinnamon streusel cake. Both of which came out pretty darn good if I do say so myself. Christmas Day started with that cinnamon streusel cake and coffee for breakfast, exchanging gifts with DD, then stuffing ourselves at our friend’s aunt’s house. They’re great people and it was good times all around! And now I’m exhausted from… stuffing myself, I guess. πŸ™‚

Anyway, today I want to show you some sweet sewing things I got from my friend, brother, and sister-in-law!

First are some awesome handmade sewing gifts from Dana, my sewing guru and friend! We have a “Sit and Sew” group that meets every other week to hang out, sew, eat sweets, and talk about silly things. Last year we started doing a Secret Santa for Christmas and birthday gifts. Dana picked my name for this year!

IMG_5094
She knows me sew well

HELLO KITTY EVERYTHING!!! Sew cute!! Starting from the top is a mug organizer, then a cute pencil/sewing case (with the HK scrap fabric inside!! Score!), then a mug rug, pressing cloth, and a seam allowance guide.

IMG_5096

IMG_5095
Cutest details!
Double-sided mug rug
Double-sided mug rug

Thank you, Dana!! My sewing space just got a bit cuter. πŸ™‚

Here’s a group photo from our Sit and Sew Christmas party! We decided to include the husbands and children (not pictured) this year. We had a delicious Italian feast and got to talk about sewing while the guys talked about guns. Good times all around!

DSC_0970Next up are the gifts from my brother and sister-in-law:

IMG_5099Starting from the left, that’s actually a dim sum handmade skirt! The fabric is too cute. Next is some Christmas fabric, a vintage McCall’s jacket, skirt, and pants pattern, and finally Fleur de Lis charms! There were a few more things I received (including a Hello Kitty advent calendar… I sense a theme here…), but these were the sewing-related gifts.

IMG_5100DD and I are fans of dim sum. We went twice last month and ate chicken feet both times! The second time started creeping me out, though so I just ate a half of a foot. It’s weird when you have pet chickens and look at their feet all the time… and see all the things they step in…

IMG_5102
Shifty Santa holding a teddy bear hostage?

IMG_5103I’m liking the view A jacket. I’m also liking this new word “Petite-able” on the bottom of the envelope. This pattern is totes petite-able.

IMG_5105Every New Orleans girl has to have Fleur de Lis here and there. These are totally my style and I’ll have fun figuring out what projects to include these in.

So what about you? Did you get anything sewing-related for Christmas, or something just totally awesome? Tell me because I’m nosy!! πŸ™‚

And I’ll just leave this picture of DD and I hanging out with Mr. Hankey from South Park. Best Christmas decoration EVER!! (Not ours… he was made by our friends and is happily spreading Christmas cheer in front of their house).

Hiiiidey ho!
Hiiiidey ho!

-RED

6 thoughts on “Christmas Haul

  1. Such cute presents! I love the heloo kitty stuff πŸ™‚ the embroidery detail is nice on the pouch!
    Sewing-wise i got a rotary cutter and cutting mat, some money for fabric and the “love at first stitch” book by tilly walnes!

    Like

      1. I did get the hookup. Those don’t include my new DSLR camera and iPhone 6 lol and I got a couple computer games. And lots of chocolate! Yummy. I had a very good Christmas! Lol

        I am excited about the book!! I want to make everything in it! Her style is so cute!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Bahahaha that last photo, though!! I love that you know someone with that decoration on their lawn.

    You got some really great sewing-related stuff for xmas this year, from friends and family alike! And I’m pretty jealous that you have a sewing group–that sounds so fun!!

    Like

    1. I couldn’t pass up the chance to have my picture taken with Mr. Hankey! That’s probably one of my favorite Christmas cartoons ever, haha!

      My sewing group is amazing! I’ve learned so much and it’s great to see what everyone else is working on- it provides a lot of inspiration. πŸ™‚

      I hope your Christmas was awesome. Cheers!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

