Finished projects · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday: The Stuff of Nightmares

Happy almost-Halloween! One more day until I turn all of the lights off in my house and ignore the cries of “Trick or Treat!” at my door.

Kidding. Almost.

I’m gonna rock out with my awesome new costume and enjoy not being judged for dressing up for the night!

So it’s Thursday, and as you all know, it’s time for a Throwback Thursday project! This one is near and dear to my heart as it was the first project I made with my Viking sewing machine, Odin! It’s also unintentionally the creepiest by far, making this suitable for a pre-Halloween post!

Everyone, meet the stuff of nightmares, Chloe version 2.0, A.K.A Chlo-borg:

NOT my best work.
NOT my best work.

Now this was a gift for my cousin-in-law for her birthday in 2013. I wanted to make a stuffed animal version of her cat, Chloe. Chloe is a beautiful, gentle creature… not the horror I made her out to be.

Not a deformed freak.
Not a deformed freak.

When I was drafting the pattern and had everything sewn flat, she was a close match to the real deal. I didn’t realize once I stuffed her, she would shrink up and be deformed.

"I'm watching you sleep."
“I’m watching you sleep. Always.”

Those unblinking dead eyes don’t help, either.

I appliqued the black fabric to the white and used a satin stitch. The satin stitch was a little loose because I derped and didn’t change up the thread tension like I should have. I hand-stitched the mouth and other details. I like to think I’ve gotten better at hand-stitching since then. Sigh.

DSC00999All in all, it was received well and with much laughter. I believe Chlo-borg has been used to scare the husband and real Chloe at times.

Have you made something that turned out a little more than freakish? Show me in the comments!

Have a happy Halloween! Now go scare the bejeezus out of someone!

-RED

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: The Stuff of Nightmares

Leave a Reply

