Finished projects · Throwback Thursday · Weddings!

Throwback Thursday: Our DIY Wedding

One year ago this Sunday, I married my best friend and father to my fur and feather babies. It was a crazy day filled with love, family, friends, stress, exhaustion, and cake! What more could I ask for?

Obligatory twirly dress photo
Obligatory twirly dress photo

But this TBT post isn’t about me getting married, it’s about all the wedding sweatshop slave hours I put in — yes, I had some DIY elements… of course.

No, I didn’t make my dress or really sew anything. I did, however, make a TON of satin and lace flowers for bouquets among other odds and ends.

It was a vintage vibe as I got married at the Vintage Court (200 year old southern oak trees YEAH). The colors were purple, silver, um white and black I guess. I just wanted lots of purple, you know.

DSC_350 DSC_346The purple bouquet is mine and the white bouquets are my bridesmaids’. Their dresses were a dark purple so I thought the contrast would work nicely.

DSC01247Here’s a close-up. I made 2 styles of flowers for mine and embellished them with little pearls and vintage-looking buttons. The bling-bling you see in the middle is actually a pair of earrings and a brooch from my grandmother (herein referred to as Nana). I wanted something of hers and my other grandma’s in my wedding and I was stoked to hear she had some rhinestone bling that would go well with my vision. I simply sewed them onto the flowers, so they can be easily removed.

DSC01248
Lots o’ lace

I also made a purple mini-bouquet for the toss (not pictured). It was teeny, cute, and easily caught my my Maid of Honor!

Here is a close up of one of the bridesmaid’s bouquets:

DSC01245Some of that lace was actually from some bathroom curtains that came with our house. Repurposing FTW!

DSC01246Each bouquet held about 40 flowers. I can make those in my sleep now. Want to learn how to make some? I’ll post a tutorial on the non-rosette style attached to a “stem” in a couple of weeks! It’s super easy and there’s FIRE involved for all of you pyros.

The flowers didn’t stop there, though. I made my garter set. One for throwing, one for keeping:

Something blue, yo
Something blue, yo

Hair clips for the bridesmaids:

20130715_154501I also made some hair barrettes for the flower girls, but forgot to take pictures of them. Womp womp.

Corsages for the moms and grandmothers:

20130721_122409Boutonnieres for the guys:

20130701_094420The top row was for the groomsmen and the bottom three are for DD, my dad, and his dad.

Flower petals for the tables:

DSC01255Next, the ring bearer’s pillow. No flowers here, but since my nephew was 1 1/2 at the time and I knew he couldn’t hold onto a real pillow easily, I improvised and made one from scratch with straps to make it into a backpack!!

20130810_17440820130810_174424I also wanted to make something special for my bridesmaids as they’re a pretty special bunch of ladies, so I made zippered pouches catered to their interests and filled them with bridesmaids-y things:

DSC01261I also personalized the inside using Odin’s alphabet-embroidery-stuff for the first time:

DSC01266
Not perfect, but it’s the thought that counts, right?

There were a few other odds and ends I ended up doing, but this was the main bulk of my work. I started in May experimenting with different types of flowers and finished everything by September. All of my summer free time was spent burning myself with fire and hot glue to make lovely little flowers.

All in all, it was a success and I’m so happy I had some personal touches in there! That made it even more special. If you’re thinking about doing some DIY stuff for your wedding, I say GO FOR IT, but beware! The time you put into it may not be worth it to some. I would have spent less $$ and time if I just bought everything, but what’s the fun in that? Weddings are all about some blood, sweat, and tears, too!

On a side note, there will be some radio silence here at Sew RED-y for a couple of weeks. My Nana suddenly passed away on October 4, so I will be with my family to try to get through this difficult time. It was hard enough making this post, really. We were very close and even though I live across the country, we talked every weekend. She was always interested in what I was sewing next and was so proud that I picked up such an amazing hobby. My heart aches but I know she is where she needs to be– with my grandpa who has been gone for too long. I’ll keep sewing for you, Nana, and I’ll be home soon. I love you with all of my heart.

Nana-RED

7 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Our DIY Wedding

    1. Thank you, Dana. I missed y’all, too. It was a really rough couple of weeks but now I’m back in the game and ready to bust out some more projects!

      Like

Leave a Reply

