Finished projects · Throwback Thursday · Weddings!

Throwback Thursday: Bridal Brunch Dress

DD’s and my wedding anniversary is approaching! One year ago on October 12, the magic happened. Well, maybe not magic but it was a lot of fun/stress/relief/more fun/exhaustion! That’s how weddings go. But for this TBT I’m not sharing the projects I made for my wedding day (pssst, stop by next week for that!). Instead, I’ll share a dress I made originally for the rehearsal but at the last minute decided it would work better for my bridal brunch the week before!

I used a Project Runway Simplicity pattern, 2176:2176I had this beautiful fabric I bought from Joann’s that had been sitting in my stash, waiting for the perfect opportunity.

DSC01274Shiny, pink bows, and lace? Super girly, super cute.

I think I made it up in a size 10, but graded out a size or two at the waist because I’m crazy like that.

NOT what I looked like the day of the brunch!
NOT what I looked like the day of the brunch!

Woof, this dress calls for a made-up face. Anyway, it was a simple enough pattern but I think I shouldn’t have made the waist bigger as it does this weird puffing thing.

Better view
Better view

And now we come to the back. That zipper. OMG. I had an invisible zipper whose sole purpose on this earth was to make my life hell.

Wonky zipper from HELL
Wonky zipper from HELL

It got stuck every time I put it on or took it off. DD had to try to pry me loose from it multiple times, once for about 30 minutes straight. It was awful. I somehow was able to squeeze into it the day of the brunch without having a huge panic attack. Zipper, I hate you. It has since been removed and replaced with a regular boring zipper that is not invisible. I wore it to my friend’s wedding last March and I could not bear to deal with the Zipper from Hell anymore.

Oh! This is the first time I tried lining a dress! I heard a little too late that the reason skirts or dresses get caught all up in your crotch or stick to your thighs is because there’s no lining (duh…). So I didn’t want that to happen here! The pattern didn’t call for a lining, so I just cut out Bemberg Rayon lining (go big or go home) from the pattern pieces. That’s how most linings go, right?

DSC01275
So proud of my first lining!

Anyway, it was a great day with great people and a decent dress. I’m not sure how much wear I’ll get out of it as the poofy waist really bothers me. Maybe I’ll just wait until I grow a spare tire around my middle and then it’ll work? Yes?

Do any of you have zipper from hell stories? I know there must be others out there, those things can be fiddly!!

-RED

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Bridal Brunch Dress

  1. Well done, it turned out beautifully! I only make bags because clothing patterns confuse me but I’ve had many-a-zipper try to ruin my day. Happy Anniversary!

    Like

    1. Thank you! Clothing patterns can be a nightmare, but it’s not too bad when you start out simple and go from there. Bags are pretty awesome, though and I love how versatile sewing is – accessories, clothing, home goods, toys, etc. Now if only we can get those zippers to behave!

      Like

Leave a Reply

