Finished projects · Vintage

50’s Vintage Bra Top

Vintage.

It seems as though the majority of sewists out there are all about the vintage patterns, styles, inspiration, etc. While I think some vintage pieces are pretty nifty and interesting, it’s not really my cup of tea. I don’t think I quite have defined my style yet, but I definitely wouldn’t call it “vintage.”

But then Simplicity came out with a vintage-inspired pattern, 1426.

1426Super cute, huh?

I couldn’t help but buy the pattern even though I had no solid plan for it and it kind of goes against the usual things I wear or make for myself. I think it has some kind of weird voo doo thing going on… I just had to have it.

IMG_4301
This does NOT count as underwear… right?

I made View B as I like the criss-cross straps in the back. The other views are halter tops.

IMG_4297
In hindsight, I probably should have flexed. There’s really crazy back muscles happening under that broad expanse of flesh.

I made a straight size 12 but think I can go for a size 10 next time. I was a little worried about my wide rib cage and being able to breathe, but it is a tad looser than I would like for it to be.

IMG_4299The fabric is from SAS, our mill end fabric store here in Tucson. I bought this on one of my first ever trips to SAS, thinking I would make a cute button-down collared work shirt from it. Of course back then I didn’t realize I would need more than 1 1/4 yards to make a shirt like that. So this fabric has been giving me puppy dog eyes, waiting to be used for something.

IMG_4303It’s a cotton, so it works well enough. Other than wearing it around the house when DD refuses to put the A/C below 80 degrees, the only other use I guess I have for it is to wear under loose tops with low armholes. I have a few in my wardrobe like that (ready to wear, not handmade…) so this would be a cooler option than wearing a full-on cami underneath. Plus it doesn’t quite scream I’M A BRA… at least I don’t think so.

IMG_4304
Haha what’s pattern matching?

If I were to make this again, I would:

1. Put hooks and eyes instead of buttons for closures. This is nearly impossible for me to put on myself.

2. Make it into a swimsuit top. View C without the boob flaps would be super cute, right?! On my next summer to-do list now…

IMG_4302
Impossible to reach unless you’re double jointed.

I would imagine most people who make this would wear it with high-waisted pants or shorts for a true vintage feel. I personally feel like Steve Urkel when I wear anything high-waisted, so count me out on that.

bf4c8917dd52670004fc9b93fd994e5940d98e8a0a072f492098762064340998

Even though it’s a “bra top,” there’s a bunch of coverage, so perhaps it could double as a shirt? Maybe if I was 10 years younger? Or 20 years younger?

IMG_4296So what do you think? Should this pattern be used only for swim wear or can it pass as a real top?

-RED

4 thoughts on “50’s Vintage Bra Top

Leave a Reply

