Finished projects

‘MURICA!

HAPPY ‘MURICA DAY, Y’ALL!

I may be biased, but I live in the best darn country in the world. I spent a year in Japan teaching English a few years back and don’t get me wrong – Japan is super awesome and there will always be a special place in my heart for the people, food, culture, and history – but I realized at that time where my true home is.

So when I saw these prints for sale on the Girl Charlee Fabrics website, inspiration struck and I HAD TO MAKE A TACKY ‘MURICA DRESS:

ad6017a9fda16db086baa68dd0efc6e71511eb715dd264bef70ec5b7417db652

And get this, I also had to make it “work appropriate” (knee length, sleeves) because there was no way I was going to hide this awesomeness from my coworkers. I decided to Franken-pattern it and combine the Sewaholic Renfrew with McCall’s M6559. Oh and let’s toss in an antique shotgun while we’re at it, cuz ‘MURICA:

FREEDOM
FREEDOM

I cut off the Renfrew at the shorten/lengthen line, added an extra inch, then cut the McCall’s pattern at the waistline and stopped at the knees. My initial idea was to make a circle skirt with the stars fabric, but um dummy RED only bought 1 yard of each print and circle skirts take up WAYYYY more than that. I was so lucky to squeeze out what I could with a simple A-line skirt.

IMG_2242

I do think it looks better with a belt. I wore it to work the Friday before Memorial Day and everyone called me “Wonder Woman.” I guess once you see it, you can’t unsee it? Someone even thought it was an old Wonder Woman costume (ouch). Whatever, I’m proud of my dress AND my country.

IMG_1969

Take that, ceiling!
Take that, ceiling!
RAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
RAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

I hope everyone has a safe and happy Independence Day! Have you made something patriotic? Do tell!

-RED

6 thoughts on “‘MURICA!

  1. Aw, thanks! ‘MURICA, EFF YEAH! Actually every time I wear this, the Team USA song plays in my head and I run around the house screaming the song. My husband and cats LOVE it….. ha…. no. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

