Finished projects · Gift ideas · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday: Passport Cover

Hooray, another TBT! I may as well stick with the passport theme since our belated honeymoon is coming up. Let’s hear it for the pirate-y passport cover, yarrrr:

340460_707737331755_360688622_o

I found a tutorial online not too long after I started sewing and thought it would be a nice, quick, easy project that I could handle at the time. I also thought it would be a good idea to have a cover so when you’re traveling it’s not crazy obvious that it’s your passport. Can’t trust those pickpockets, yo. Plus it’s all “personalized” and stuff.

420197_707737536345_379033430_n

The fabric I used is leftover passport stamp fabric from my work shirt featured last week, pirate fabric from a pair of ill-fitting PJ pants I made for my brother (learn how to measure yourself, bro!), and the inner fabric is a scrap from Wal-Mart (herein after called Wally World– WARNING click the link at your own risk… there’s lots of twerking cuz NOLA keeps it classy). I thought red top stitching would be spiffy.

The construction is easy and straightforward. I omitted the ties as it would create more bulk- and the “newer” passports circa 2007 are pretty darn bulky enough.

430588_707737411595_924828122_n

Now we are ready to pillage the international seas with sewing awesomeness! Now give us your oranges and ladies so we don’t get scurrrrvy!

Leave a Reply

