Finished projects

First Post, First Projects

Howdy ho, world!

Welcome to my blog dedicated to my love of sewing and other randomness that happens in my life! I decided to start my own sewing blog after a few years of creepin’ others from around the world. It’s a wonderful online community and I’m ready to have my own special space in it. So have a seat, get comfy, and let’s do this!

A quick sewing bio (feel free to check out the “About” tab on the top of the page for more info and to meet the gang):

You can call me RED and my sewing obsession blossomed in the summer of 2011. Oh, I had some experience before that with a couple of sewing summer camps and making random anime costumes for conventions (nothing fancy and now you know I’m a total dork).

I thought it would be a good idea to start sewing again when my husband and I moved into our new home in Tucson, AZ so I can make curtains. He gave me a Brother XR4040 which I named Brody McBrosephson for my birthday in 2011. Well, what fun is sewing boring old curtains with a brand spanking new birthday machine? I went rogue and signed up for classes at Joann’s since I sucked at reading patterns and needed to get back in the swing of things:

WOOF
Purse of coolness!
Cool button!
Cool button!

IMG_2208

Here’s my first make from class, a nifty handbag. Excuse my face- it wasn’t camera ready at the time. I remember bending a needle while making this… the instructions said to buy a home-decor fabric so naturally I went to the heaviest, prettiest fabric I could find. Poor little Brody made it through OK and I still use this bag from time to time.

Lace close-up on shoulder
Lace close-up on shoulder
Knit top bathroom selfie
Knit top bathroom selfie

 

My second class was where I met my sewing guru and fellow blogger, Dana. I lucked out and no one else showed up for class, so she was stuck with just me! Oh how lucky! This was supposed to be a “beginner-ish” project but lordy this shirt was cray cray. Knit fabric on a beginner.. AND get cutting AND sewing done in 3 hours? Shame on you, Joann’s. The pattern is Simplicity 2261 and even though it’s a tad too big, I still wear this to work.

Sweet dress that's rarely worn
Sweet dress that’s rarely worn

318361_644675817535_3275575_n

Gathered collar
Gathered collar
Spiffy pin tucks
Spiffy pin tucks

And my last class (advanced!) was Simplicity 2307. It was supposed to be a v-neck but I got scissor-happy and thank goodness Dana saved it! I wore this only once because it’s pretty darn tight in the ribcage/chest area and gives me a weird pooch in the tummy. BUT I learned pintucks, gathers, and sewing a lapped zipper. Winnnnn.

So there you have it, folks. First post. First projects from 2011.

Do any of you still use/wear some of your first sewing or craft projects? Do tell!

RED

7 thoughts on “First Post, First Projects

Leave a Reply

